Bink & Gollie by Kate DiCamillo and Allison McGhee, illustrated by Tony Fucile

binkBink & Gollie is three separate stories about two best friends, Bink & Gollie, and their adventures. The first story is about Bink getting outrageous rainbow colored socks that Gollie can’t stand and then the two of them learning to compromise. The second story is about Bink’s desire to go on a adventure because it’s been too long since her last one. Bink places a sign on the door, asking for no interruptions as she climbs the Andes mountains. Once she’s achieved her goal, Bink realizes triumphs are better shared with friends and invites Gollie to join her. The last story is about Gollie adopting a fish, taking him everywhere with him, and then tripping and almost loosing him. It is Bink who saves the day and places the fish in the pond, telling Gollie that she is most marvelous companion of all.

The illustrations in the book draw the eye directly to Bink and Gollie. Their world is white-washed with very little colors outside of their characters. The only color comes in when Bink and Gollie interact with a person or thing. The girls bring color and happiness in an otherwise drab world. Their imaginations fill the spaces on the pages. Gollie lives in a ginormous, impossible tree house. Her house looks like a typical house inside and out, but it’s perched in a tree. Gollie’s adventure to the Andes mountain is entirely in her imagination.

Bink & Gollie is recommended for kindergarten through third grade. This is the perfect book to bridge the gap between early readers and chapter books. It is longer than typical early readers, but there are not enough words for the book to be considered a chapter book. There are some pages where there are no words at all. It is ideal for a younger child who may read at a higher level but is having difficulty finding age appropriate books. On the opposite end, it is a great option for an older reader who may not be struggling with reading. The books does feature vocabulary words that children aren’t likely to know like “implore” and the concept of compromising and “gray matter.” Bink tells Gollie to use her “gray matter” when she wants the younger child to think.

The book will probably appeal more strongly to girls than boys simply because the main characters are girls, but beyond gender, the book can hold almost universal appeal. Because of the striking illustrations, the length of the book, the vocabulary, and it’s position as a transition book between early readers and chapter books.

Awards:
Kiddo Award, 2011 Nominee Best Transitional Book United States
New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Books, 2010 United Statesundefined
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, 2011 Winner United States

Bibliographic Information:
DiCamillo, Kate, Alison McGhee, and Tony Fucile. Bink & Gollie. Somerville, MA: Candlewick, 2010. Print.

Readalikes:
The other books in the Bink & Gollie series
Lulu and the Brontosaurus by Judith Viorst
Ling & Ting by Grace Lin
Ivy & Bean series by Annie Barrows

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s