Servants of the Storm by Delilah S. Dawson

servantsDelilah S. Dawson has done what many adult authors are doing. She’s made the leap to writing YA, but she shines were many adult authors fall flat. Servants of the Storm is an engrossing, enjoyable, terror filled ride sure to delight horror and supernatural fans.

I’m going to be honest. I read this simply because the cover is beautiful and haunting. I mean, just look at it! It’s fantastic. The book? It’s even better.

I loved the setting of a Savannah that’s been ravaged by a horrendous hurricane that took of life of Dovey’s best friend, Carly. A year has passed and Dovey is beginning to come out of her stupor. But what she find when the fog lifts is more terrifying than she could have imagined.

Before I stated the book, I thought I was going to be reading a supernatural romance, which I was fine with. But this is really better classified as supernatural horror. There is romance and a love triangle (kill me), but the romance takes a back seat to the action and squirmy things in the book. However, I do want to note that there is the typical love triangle that I am so completely over present in this. But this is the least annoying love triangle I’ve ever read. Ever. The only other thing I didn’t like was what I call “the hot mysterious stranger,” which is prevalent in literature. I struggled with that in the book because I was just yelling at Dovey, who I liked, for being stupid and trusting someone she barely knew. But, of course, he had the answers she needed. My annoyance didn’t last long because everything else was so awesome.

I know I’m being vague with the awesome, but I have to be. I can’t spoil the surprise for you. I can’t spoil your jaw dropping in surprise and disgust. Things are gross and creepy and atmospheric and amazing. The amusement park scene? It’s been a long time since I read a book with my eyes that wide or with such suspense. It’s been a few weeks since I finished it, and I’m still thinking about that scene.

And the ending. Oh, the ending. I need a sequel. Like, I needed a sequel weeks ago. I need it. I really hope this book sells enough for the publisher to want a sequel (and I hope she wants to write one), because I need it. Desperately. And I need it now. When I finished the review copy, I kept swiping my finger and hoping my copy hadn’t downloaded correctly just to have a few more pages.

I will be buying a copy for my personal library and telling my coworker to put this on our ordering list for the library.

I received a digital advance copy from Edelweiss in exchange for a honest review.

Leave a Reply

